Quick links


Islam is a monotheistic religion with many differing sects which believes that:

  • There is one all-knowing divinity (Allah) and Muhammad is his messenger.
  • Perfect peace comes from total submission to Allah.
  • By following the “Five Pillars of Faith” one can achieve perfect peace.
  • The Qur’an and Hadith are sacred texts which outline the characteristics of Allah and offer guidance about how individuals should live.
  • One day, Allah, with absolute justice and mercy, will judge all of human kind.

The Five Pillars of Islam

  1. To testify your belief in One God (called Allah in Arabic) and the Prophet Muhammad as His Last and Final Messenger (peace and blessings of God be upon him).
  2. To pray five daily prayers at their appointed times.
  3. To fast from dawn to dusk during the lunar month of Ramadan.
  4. To pay alms on excess wealth.
  5. To make Pilgrimage to the Mosque in Mecca once in a lifetime, if one is able.

Dr. Shelby Haque, shelby.haque@ualberta.ca