Quick links

Research Awards

The Gerald S. Krispin Research Award was created to:

  • recognize the achievements of researchers at Concordia University of Edmonton (CUE),
  • raise the profile of research and scholarship at CUE, and
  • encourage engagement in further research.

This award is available to full‐time continuing faculty members at CUE, either as individuals or in groups.

The Gerald S. Krispin Research Award is not an annual award, and is only bestowed as circumstances dictate. There may be no recipients in some years, or multiple recipients in a single year.

Previous Awardees

2014Elizabeth SmytheArts
2015Steven MuirArts
2016Tim LoremanEducation
2018Tim LabronArts
2019Brent BradfordEducation
2020Travis DumsdayArts
2022Cecilia BukutuScience
2024Emmanuel MapfumoScience

Selection Criteria

  1. A faculty member or group has, over a substantial period of time, made consistent and significant research or scholarly contributions to their field.
  2. A faculty member or group has produced a single piece of high‐impact research or scholarship that has made a major contribution to their field.
  3. The researcher(s) should have a national or international reputation for research and/or scholarly excellence.

Selection Committee

  • President & Vice‐Chancellor
  • Vice‐President Academic & Provost
  • One member of the Research & Faculty Development Committee
  • Two faculty members selected by the Research & Faculty Development Committee


Candidates are nominated by at least three full‐time faculty members who must submit:

  • a complete nomination form,
  • the full CV(s) of the candidate(s), and
  • other supporting documentation (e.g., letters of support, evidence of research and/or scholarly impact).

Nominations are sent via email to the President’s Office (president@concordia.ab.ca) by January 15 of each year.