Quick links

Reopening CUE for Fall 2020

Faculty & Staff

Administration

Caroline Howarth
Chair, Fine Arts
Office: A201A
Phone: 780-479-9269
Email: caroline.howarth@concordia.ab.ca

Program Coordinator

Jolaine Kerley
Assistant Professor
Expertise: Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Vocal Diction, Vocal Literature  
Office: A302
Phone: 780-479-9307
Email: jolaine.kerley@concordia.ab.ca

Teaching Faculty

Dr. Joy Berg
Professor, Director of Choral Activities
Expertise: Choral Conducting, Church Music and Congregational Song 
Office: A201-C
Phone: 780-479-9368
Email: joy.berg@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Danielle Lisboa
Associate Professor, Director of Instrumental Activities & Music Theory Coordinator
Expertise: Orchestral Conducting, Music Theory, Chamber Music
Office: A308
Phone: 780-479-9327
Email: danielle.lisboa@concordia.ab.ca

Jolaine Kerley
Assistant Professor
Expertise: Voice, Vocal Pedagogy, Vocal Diction, Vocal Literature 
Office: A302
Phone: 780-479-9307
Email: jolaine.kerley@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. John Brough
Adjunct Professor, Manager of the School of Music
Expertise: Music History
Office: A306
Phone: 780-479-9301
Email: john.brough@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Ping-Shan Liao
Adjunct Professor
Expertise: Piano, Piano Literature, Piano Pedagogy
Office: A310
Phone: 780-378-8434
Email: ping-shan.liao@concordia.ab.ca

Deborah Rice
Adjunct Professor
Artistic Director, Handbell ensembles
Expertise: Handbells, Voice, Music Education, Music Theory
Office: A203A
Phone: 780-479-9355
Email: deborah.rice@concordia.ab.ca

Wendy Grasdahl
Music Director, Wind ensembles
Expertise: Trumpet
Email: wendy.grasdahl@concordia.ab.ca

John Lawrence
Expertise: Music Therapy
Email: john.lawrence@concordia.ab.ca

Laura Hawley
Expertise: Composition
Email: laura.hawley@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Barry Bromley
Professor Emeritus

Dr. John Hooper
Professor Emeritus

Studio Instructors

Mary Fearon
Expertise: French Horn
Email: mary.fearon@concordia.ab.ca

Michel Forestier
Expertise: Classical Guitar

Mairi-Irene McCormack
Expertise: Voice

Frank Ho
Expertise: Violin
Email: frank.ho@concordia.ab.ca

Amy Nicholson
Expertise: Cello

Elizabeth Koch
Expertise: Flute
Email: elizabeth.koch@concordia.ab.ca

Alden Lowrey
Expertise: Low Brass
Email: alden.lowrey@concordia.ab.ca

Concordia’s Music faculty is supported by a number of sessional instructors from Edmonton’s professional community, including members of the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, who provide instruction in a variety of classical music disciplines including (but not limited to):

  • Strings (violin, viola, cello, double bass and harp)
  • Winds (flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone)
  • Brass (trumpet, trombone, French horn, euphonium and tuba)
  • Percussion (mallet instruments and timpani)

Please send an inquiry to Concordia’s music office if there is an instrument you wish to study at Concordia.