Quick links


Go back to news

Fundamental Physics Prize

Posted on: Aug 3, 2012

Maxim Kontsevich, Nathan Seiberg, and Edward Witten have each won the US$3 million dollar Fundamental Physics Prize, a new prize that acknowledges accomplishments in fundamental physics and advances in closely related fields. The prize recognizes Kontsevich for his “contributions which have taken the fruitful interaction between modern theoretical physics and mathematics to new heights,” Seiberg for “major contributions to our understanding of quantum field theory and string theory, … with fundamental applications in physics and mathematics,” and Witten’s “contributions to physics… and numerous applications of quantum field theory to mathematics.” The Fundamental Physics Prize website includes information about the other winners of the inaugural prize, as well as the new foundation that funds the prize.