Quick links


Go back to news

Pierre Deligne has won the 2013 Abel Prize

Posted on: Mar 20, 2013

Pierre Deligne, professor emeritus in the School of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, has won the 2013 Abel Prize "for seminal contributions to algebraic geometry and for their transformative impact on number theory, representation theory, and related fields." Deligne has excelled in finding connections between various fields of mathematics, which has led to several important discoveries. One of his most famous contributions was his proof of the last of the Weil conjectures in 1973. This earned him both the Fields Medal (1978) and the Crafoord Prize (1988), the latter jointly with Alexander Grothendieck. Deligne has also been awarded the Henri Poincaré Prize (1974), the Balzan Prize (2004), and the Wolf Prize (jointly with Phillip Griffiths and David Mumford in 2008).