Quick links


Go back to news

NSERC scholarship funding now available for students in the new Master of Science in Information Technology program

Posted on: Nov 27, 2020

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council has approved our new Masters of Science in Information Technology (MScIT) program under the Canada Graduate Scholarships – Master funding. This is a great opportunity for students enrolled, or considering enrolling, in our MScIT program to apply and receive this important scholarship.

If you are considering applying, please contact Margie Schoepp in Financial Aid and Awards.


What does this mean for our students?

Students enrolled in this program are eligible to receive $17,500 for one year (non-renewable).



The CGS M program provides financial support to high-calibre scholars who are engaged in eligible master’s or, in some cases, doctoral programs in Canada (refer to Eligibility). This support allows these scholars to fully concentrate on their studies in their chosen fields.

The CGS M program supports up to 3,000 students annually in all disciplines and is administered jointly by Canada’s three granting agencies: CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC. The selection process and post-award administration are carried out at the institutional level, under the guidance of the three agencies.


Who is eligible to apply?

Students who are enrolled, or are planning to enrol in our MScIT program next year may submit an application. Applications to the CGS-M scholarship under the MScIT program are not restricted to CUE students. However, successful applicants must be enrolled in CUE’s MScIT program to receive the scholarship. Once awarded, the scholarship cannot be transferred to another institution.

The deadline is on December 1st.  The call for applications for next year should open in the summer of 2021. Results from the December 2020 competition will be released on or after April 1st, 2021.

From NSERC, on student eligibility:


To be eligible to apply, you must

  • be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada, as of the application deadline date
  • be enrolled in, have applied for or will apply for full-time admission* to an eligible graduate program at the master’s or doctoral level at a Canadian institution with a CGS M allocation
  • respect the internal deadline to apply for admission for your intended program of study—contact the faculty of graduate studies (or its equivalent) at the selected Canadian institution(s) for more detailed information
  • have completed, as of December 31 of the year of application
    • either between zero and 12 months of full-time studies (or full-time equivalent) in the program for which you are requesting funding, which may be one of the following:
      • a master’s program
      • a doctoral program that you are entering without having ever been enrolled in a master’s program (that is, direct-entry)
      • a combined master’s-doctoral program
      • a master’s program that will transition to an eligible doctoral program, either before or after award activation, with no master’s degree conferred (that is, fast-track)
      • a master’s program for which the degree requirements will be completed before the end of the award, allowing the award to continue into an eligible doctoral program
    • or between four and 12 months of full-time study (or full-time equivalent) in an eligible master’s program for which the degree requirements will be completed before activation of the award, allowing it to be activated during the first 12 months of the subsequent doctoral program for which you are requesting funding
  • not have previously held a CGS M
  • have achieved a first-class average**, as determined by the host institution, in each of the last two completed years of study (full-time equivalent)
  • submit a maximum of one scholarship application per academic year to either CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC

*Refer to the Tri-agency research training award holder’s guide for details regarding part-time admission.
**Institutions may, at their discretion, offer a CGS M award to applicants who have not obtained a first-class average.