Quick links


Go back to news

2019-20 CCAA National Scholar Awards Announced

Posted on: Sep 16, 2020

EDMONTON, AB – On Wednesday, the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) announced the 2019-20 CCAA National Scholar Award Recipients.

The CCAA National Scholar Award recognizes the outstanding academic accomplishments of student-athletes. To be recognized, a student-athlete must achieve honours standing at their institution in the current academic year and be participating in a sanctioned CCAA sport. To be able to compete as a collegiate athlete and maintain honours status throughout the year is an incredible accomplishment.

Once again, the Concordia University of Edmonton Thunder student-athletes placed in the Top 10 institutions in the CCAA (of nearly 100 member colleges and universities) for total number of recipients with an outstanding 34 athletes who earned the status of National Scholar. They include:

  • Jasleen Kaur, Badminton
  • Kaylee Morris, Badminton
  • Takeisha Wang, Badminton
  • Nicolas Pittman, Badminton & Golf
  • Carsten Ritter, Basketball
  • Naomi Casteleijn, Basketball
  • Kaitlyn Kluttig, Basketball
  • Madison Murdoch, Basketball
  • Leah Piekema, Basketball
  • Amy Van Brabant, Basketball
  • Luke Baker, Basketball
  • Madison Masterson, Cross-Country Running
  • Mienna Starosielski, Cross-Country Running
  • Jackson Murrell, Cross-Country Running
  • Brandon Morris, Cross-Country Running
  • Taylor Chamberlin, Cross-Country Running
  • Aaron Bender, Cross-Country Running
  • Joshua Buchholtz, Curling
  • Gina Friecrich, Curling
  • Madysan Theroux, Curling
  • Riley Higdon, Golf
  • Romano Morrison, Golf
  • Sara Harvey, Soccer
  • Sara Hrywkiw, Soccer
  • Paige Martin, Soccer
  • Sarah McClelland, Soccer
  • Armaan Bhinder, Soccer
  • Kenneth Johnson, Soccer
  • Samuel Kohan, Soccer
  • Nathan Lane, Volleyball
  • Ethan Murray, Volleyball
  • Chad Sieben, Volleyball
  • Emma Derbyshire, Volleyball & Cross-Country Running
  • Shae McDonald, Volleyball

Congratulations to all of our Thunder student-athletes on this accomplishment.

A complete release from the CCAA can be found at https://www.ccaa.ca/general/2020-21/releases/2020_national_scholars.