Quick links

Faculty and Staff

The Concordia School of Music is a body of practicing artists who nurture individuals to be accomplished, passionate, ethical and reflective artists enriching the greater community.

Administration

Dr. John Brough
Manager, School of Music
Office: A306
Phone 780-479-9301
Email: john.brough@concordia.ab.ca

Jennifer Maxfield
Events and Services Coordinator, School Of Music
Office: A306
Phone: 780-479-9304
Email: jennifer.maxfield@concordia.ab.ca

Jordan Van Biert
Executive Director, Singspiration
Email: jordan.singspiration@gmail.com
More information

Program Coordinators

Caroline Howarth
Chair, Fine Arts
Office: A201A
Phone: 780-479-9269
Email: caroline.howarth@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Joy Berg
Program Coordinator, Voice and Handbells
Professor, Cantor, Chapel Director of Music, Director of Choral Activities
Expertise: Church Music and Congregational Song, Music History, Choral Conducting
Office: A201-C
Phone: 780-479-9368
Fax: 780-474-1933
Email: joy.berg@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Danielle Lisboa
Program Coordinator, Instruments and Piano
Assistant Professor, Director of Instrumental Activities
Expertise: Chamber Music, Conducting, Theory
Office: A308
Phone: 780-479-9327
Fax: 780-477-1033
Email: danielle.lisboa@concordia.ab.ca
More Information

Teaching Faculty

Cari Astleford
Studio Instructor (interim)
Studio Instructor: Organ
Email: a_cari@hotmail.com

Dr. Joy Berg 
Professor, Cantor, Chapel Director of Music, Director of Choral Activities
Expertise: Church Music and Congregational Song, Music History, Choral Conducting
Office: A201-C
Phone: 780-479-9368
Fax: 780-474-1933
Email: joy.berg@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Barry Bromley
Professor Emeritus

Dr. John Brough
Adjunct Professor
Expertise: Music History, Choral Conducting
Office: A308
Phone: 780-479-9301
Email: john.brough@concordia.ab.ca

Mary Fearon
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Horn
Email mary.fearon@concordia.ab.ca

Wendy Grasdahl 
Studio Instructor, Director of Bands
Wind Ensemble (Festival City Winds)
Expertise: Trumpet
Email: wendy.grasdahl@concordia.ab.ca
More information 

Dr. John Hooper (on leave)
Expertise: Music Theory and Aural Skills, Conducting, Choral Techniques, Choral Literature, Composition

Jolaine Kerley 
Adjunct Professor
Expertise: Aural Skills, Diction, Voice, Voice Literature, Voice Pedagogy
Office: A302
Phone: 780-479-9307
Email: jolaine.kerley@concordia.ab.ca

Elizabeth Koch
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Flute
Email: elizabeth.koch@concordia.ab.ca

Court Laslop 
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Percussion
Email: court.laslop@concordia.ab.ca
More Information

Sheila Laughton
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Cello

John Lawrence
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Music Therapy, Clarinet
Email: john.lawrence@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Ping-Shan Liao
Adjunct Professor
Expertise: Piano, Piano Literature, Piano Pedagogy
Office: A310
Phone: 780-378-8434
Fax: 780-479-1933
Email: ping-shan.liao@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Danielle Lisboa
Assistant Professor
Expertise: Chamber Music, Conducting, Theory
Office: A308
Phone: 780-479-9327
Fax: 780-477-1033
Email: danielle.lisboa@concordia.ab.ca

Alden Lowrey
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Low Brass
Email: alden.lowrey@concordia.ab.ca

Rev. Lorne Manweiler
Studio Instructor (on leave)
Expertise: Organ
Email: lorne.manweiler@concordia.ab.ca

David Mitchell
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Violin/Viola, Composition
Email: david.mitchell@concordia.ab.ca

Deborah Rice
Studio Instructor, Director of Handbells
Handbells, Artistic Director of Jubiloso! JuBELLation, and Concordia Ringers
Expertise: Handbells, Voice
Office: A203A
Phone: 780-479-9355
Email: deborah.rice@concordia.ab.ca

Dr. Charles Stolte
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Saxophone
Email: Charles.Stolte@concordia.ab.ca

Theodore Turner
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Guitar
Phone: 780-378-8440
Email: theodore.turner@concordia.ab.ca

Jan Urke
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Double Bass
Email: jurke@ualberta.ca

Darcy Whiteside
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Banjo
More information 

Keri Lynn Zwicker
Studio Instructor
Expertise: Harp
More information